Tinea

See Fungal Infections (/health-encyclopaedia/fungal-infections) ..

Tinnitus

Tinnitus makes you hear things no-one else can. It may be a buzzing, ringing, roaring, whistling or hissing sound. It may be continuous, intermittent or somewhere in between. Meniere’s disease often has..

Tiredness

See Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (/health-encyclopaedia/chronic-fatigue-syndrome) and Fatigue (/health-encyclopaedia/fatigue) ..

Tobacco Smoking

See Nicotine Addiction (/health-encyclopaedia/nicotine-addiction) ..

Tonsillitis

See Sore Throat (/health-encyclopaedia/sore-throat) ..

Travel Sickness

See Nausea and Vomiting (/health-encyclopaedia/nausea-and-vomiting) ..

Trophic Ulcer

See Bedsores (/health-encyclopaedia/bedsores) ..

Ulcerative Colitis

See Inflammatory Bowel Disease (/health-encyclopaedia/inflammatory-bowel-disease) ..

Varicella

See Chickenpox (/health-encyclopaedia/chickenpox) ..

Varicose Veins

Veins send blood to the heart and lungs to be re-oxygenated. Not as strong walled or elastic as arteries (which are designed to cope with the vigorous action of blood pumped from the heart), veins have valves, ..

Vitiligo

Vitiligo is an absence of melanocytes, the cells which produce melanin, the skin pigment. The characteristic patches of ivory white may affect one small area or occur all over the place. Vitiligo affects all ra..

Vomiting

See Nausea and Vomiting (/health-encyclopaedia/nausea-and-vomiting) ..

Warts

Warts are caused by the human papillomavirus (HPV), of which there are more than 100 subtypes. Warts are generally painless and can appear anywhere on the body. If unsure, always check with your doctor or derma..

Weight Problems

See Anorexia Nervosa (/health-encyclopaedia/anorexia-nervosa), Bulimia (/health-encyclopaedia/bulimia) and Overweight (/health-encyclopaedia/overweight) ..

Wound Healing

The moment we are injured (whether by accident or by surgical scalpel) the body goes on red alert. Stress hormones are released and there is a cascade of biochemical reactions. The first is inflammation, a proc..